Sunday, June 24, 2012

A different way of seeing things

This, I've noticed, is either my 50th or 51st blog entry. Halfway to 100. I've been talking a lot =D

So these past couple of days and weeks, in the words of my dear friend Becca Stovall, I feel have been mundane. I go to work, 8-5, every weekday, I come home after work and either swim or just sit around, and the weekends consist of sleeping late, NOT doing anything because I'm so tired, and running siblings around. Does it come across as boring? Heck yes. Almost a tedious sort of boring too! It's exhausting to keep such a routine and to not grow weary of it!

Anywho, the reason I'm posting tonight is because, again- as Becca worded it, God is working through my nothingness.

Today, a coworker and I went to a birthday party at Chuck E. Cheese's (Avenger themed) and it was weird for me! I haven't been there in so long, seeing how much the place had changed kind of shocked me in general, seeing all these kids from work who are shocked to see me in a place OTHER than work is always funny, and it was brought to my attention that I never did these sorts of things for my birthday parties growing up; the themed parties and going out somewhere to have them... There are 10 of us so I can understand where my parents are coming from, but I don't know, I never felt like I was missing out! Whenever we had/have parties it involves cooking out, trips to sonic/mcdonalds/yogurt mountain for ice cream, swimming, occasional roller rinks and/or haunted corn mazes, the cheap stuff that is super fun and full of more memories made! Granted, I stopped having parties when I was 9, just cause I think it's awkward to get friends from different circles to come together to bring you gifts (like you're the Messiah or something! jk) and celebrate everything about you! Puts me on a pedestal, in a sense, and I don't like that.
It's my natural instinct to make sure everyone is involved in whatever activity we're doing in every setting, so I played with a lot of kids today, making sure that everyone got to do something and everyone had a token and everyone got tickets (habit I picked up from having younger siblings I suppose) and I didn't think of it as a favor or even think about it at all! It was when I had parents coming up to me, thanking me for the attention I gave their child, or what an impact I have on their children as their teacher, did I realize what was happening. It's weird to think that the habits I make, just for and in my own family, effect other people and families and they're appreciative of it!

One more thing, I've written about the virgin topic before, and I'm going to write just a bit more, right now. :D
Do I want to wait until marriage? Of course. Is it a struggle for me right now? No. I work at a preschool and I'm not dating anyone. Hello.
A friend of a friend that I had met tonight, was asking about me, who I was/what I was like/what I did with my life/etc., and the question of whether I was a virgin or not came up (the people asking were males), and the answer that was given them was yes.
The response that was relayed back to me wasn't one I was expecting at all: "She IS a virgin? That's so cool. I think that's incredibly awesome."
I don't think I've ever thought about my virginity being on the cool factor... I just haven't.
And I asked my friend to explain why that would be a cool there and here's what she told me: "Kendall, a lot of guys, whether they admit it or not, like it when a girl is still a virgin. Especially when they're dating, but even if they're not, it's still an incredible amount of respect for the girl. Having morals and keeping them, shows a lot about who you are, what is important to you, and it's a huge sign of maturity. It also puts an incredible amount of trust in the guy for you, knowing that you haven't been down that road and you're not going there until the right time."
I don't feel like a did a great job of relaying that conversation into word format, but whatever.
Anyway, it just blew my mind! Because again, this isn't something I'm making a conscious decision of everyday, and it's not something I struggle with, and it's a testimony to people that I don't even really know!

Agh, this is still strange for me to write about, cause I usually don't talk about all this, but ya know? Whatevs.

Peace

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Wait, it's summertime already...???

My word, this year has crawled and flown by at the same time! When I think about it in terms of not being at school, time has draaaaaaaagged. When I think about it in months, we're already halfway through the year of 2012!!! In two and a half weeks we'll be 6 months away from CHRISTMAS!
(Notice: Please don't think I'm counting down, it's my co-worker who makes me constantly aware as to how far away Christmas is. Thank you.)
And wow, I've had quite the week this past week, and I'm gonna sit down and write about it RIGHT NOW!
So the previous week to this one a few things happened that kinda shook up my world. First: my second favorite sister (yes, I play favorites), Claire, has had a lot of tests and scans and exams run on her lately because something isn't right in her brain/spinal area. We FINALLY found out what it was! Lyme disease! From a deer tick that bit her.. who knows how many months ago. So no, it wasn't spinal fluid infection or a brain tumor or swollen muscles in her eyes, it was side effects to lyme disease! Like, that's not a good thing, but it's a great thing compared to all of the first possibilities we came across! Also, a few days ago we found out she had mono on top of that; the side effects that involve the exhaustion, aches and sore muscles all over, and bad headaches are all from mono. Bless her heart she's only 11! I don't know why Satan is attacking the crap out of her, but she's never been more prayed over in our family or in our church so the healing WILL come.
Secondly, this past weekend the middle 5 sibs were at camp, the younger 3 were at grandparents, and my parents were in Florida for a conference. So who had the whole house to herself from Thursday to Sunday?
THIS GIRL!!!
Too bad I'm too lazy and a goody-two-shoes to throw a house party... or something wild like that ;P
It was fun though! Thursday I stayed out with a friend, purposely pretty late so I wouldn't have to be alone for TOO long by myself, (we also went to the shooting range and let's just say.. I own face).
Friday, right after work, I went to pick up the 3 little ones from Mawmaw and Pawpaw's house, which, I love going over there. Millington, in some parts, is just peaceful to me.. Mmm =) and I spent way too much of my childhood there so it's like home! I brought them home with me, and we hit up sonic for dinner and a redbox (best big sister? Oh yes). Saturday a nice lazy day for all of us, which was soo needed! But I did surprise them by taking them to go see a movie (Mirror Mirror) and I taught them the importance of sneaking snacks into the movie theater! I would consider myself a complete pro though, because mama was able to sneak sushi in there. Oh yes.
Whilst on this fun adventure though, no matter where we went or who we saw, I was CONSTANTLY being mistaken for a single mom of 3! It was a fun game to play with them, don't get me wrong, but COME ON PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!
Anyway, I took them to their final destination that night so I got the house to myself again, plus Erin and Justin: great friends who introduce great tv shows and movies to myself being time consumed and in the dark about a lot of shows and films.
Sunday I went to Fellowship again... I like that place. It's so full of difference. From the way they worship to the preaching style to the kind of people in there, it just makes me feel at home! Hit up a restaurant called Chipotle afterwards and I don't get why people don't believe me when I say I'm going to eat everything I order.. even if it is a huge burrito stuffed with pork, chicken, beans, sour cream, cheese, lettuce and salsa. Whatever. Sunday night was spend napping, redbox-ing Footloose (cute cuuuuute) and eating Chinese takeout! I legit felt like one of those single girls you see in movies, rockin' out to music with herself on a Friday night with takeout and a movie. And I was completely fine with it 8-D
That night though, the storm was AWFUL! I got kinda freaked out and it's in moments like those I praise Jehovah for non-weird/nice/supportive/understanding/non-creepy neighbors who invited me over to spend the night with their 3 daughters and granddaughter! I don't know if ya'll know this about me, but thunderstorms kind of freak me out. Always have. I used to race down the hall to mom and dad's room as soon as I saw the first strike of lightning or heard the first boom of thunder. I don't that anymore, duh, but they definitely keep me awake and knot my stomach up.
Monday: just for your entertainment, I got all ready for work in my rain boots and skinny jeans and big tshirt, and as I'm bending underneath the garage to get my dogs food, I hear a horrific ripping sound! I turn around only to see my pants SPLIT right down the back! I was mortified!!!! Praise the Lamb that my neighbors had already left on both sides of my house, and no one was home! Haven't told many people that, and I still probably shouldn't be embarrassed cause nobody saw it, but I still can't completely laugh about it yet.

Anyway, I've run out of things to say... for now. Until we meet again :)