This, I've noticed, is either my 50th or 51st blog entry. Halfway to 100. I've been talking a lot =D
So these past couple of days and weeks, in the words of my dear friend Becca Stovall, I feel have been mundane. I go to work, 8-5, every weekday, I come home after work and either swim or just sit around, and the weekends consist of sleeping late, NOT doing anything because I'm so tired, and running siblings around. Does it come across as boring? Heck yes. Almost a tedious sort of boring too! It's exhausting to keep such a routine and to not grow weary of it!
Anywho, the reason I'm posting tonight is because, again- as Becca worded it, God is working through my nothingness.
Today, a coworker and I went to a birthday party at Chuck E. Cheese's (Avenger themed) and it was weird for me! I haven't been there in so long, seeing how much the place had changed kind of shocked me in general, seeing all these kids from work who are shocked to see me in a place OTHER than work is always funny, and it was brought to my attention that I never did these sorts of things for my birthday parties growing up; the themed parties and going out somewhere to have them... There are 10 of us so I can understand where my parents are coming from, but I don't know, I never felt like I was missing out! Whenever we had/have parties it involves cooking out, trips to sonic/mcdonalds/yogurt mountain for ice cream, swimming, occasional roller rinks and/or haunted corn mazes, the cheap stuff that is super fun and full of more memories made! Granted, I stopped having parties when I was 9, just cause I think it's awkward to get friends from different circles to come together to bring you gifts (like you're the Messiah or something! jk) and celebrate everything about you! Puts me on a pedestal, in a sense, and I don't like that.
It's my natural instinct to make sure everyone is involved in whatever activity we're doing in every setting, so I played with a lot of kids today, making sure that everyone got to do something and everyone had a token and everyone got tickets (habit I picked up from having younger siblings I suppose) and I didn't think of it as a favor or even think about it at all! It was when I had parents coming up to me, thanking me for the attention I gave their child, or what an impact I have on their children as their teacher, did I realize what was happening. It's weird to think that the habits I make, just for and in my own family, effect other people and families and they're appreciative of it!
One more thing, I've written about the virgin topic before, and I'm going to write just a bit more, right now. :D
Do I want to wait until marriage? Of course. Is it a struggle for me right now? No. I work at a preschool and I'm not dating anyone. Hello.
A friend of a friend that I had met tonight, was asking about me, who I was/what I was like/what I did with my life/etc., and the question of whether I was a virgin or not came up (the people asking were males), and the answer that was given them was yes.
The response that was relayed back to me wasn't one I was expecting at all: "She IS a virgin? That's so cool. I think that's incredibly awesome."
I don't think I've ever thought about my virginity being on the cool factor... I just haven't.
And I asked my friend to explain why that would be a cool there and here's what she told me: "Kendall, a lot of guys, whether they admit it or not, like it when a girl is still a virgin. Especially when they're dating, but even if they're not, it's still an incredible amount of respect for the girl. Having morals and keeping them, shows a lot about who you are, what is important to you, and it's a huge sign of maturity. It also puts an incredible amount of trust in the guy for you, knowing that you haven't been down that road and you're not going there until the right time."
I don't feel like a did a great job of relaying that conversation into word format, but whatever.
Anyway, it just blew my mind! Because again, this isn't something I'm making a conscious decision of everyday, and it's not something I struggle with, and it's a testimony to people that I don't even really know!
Agh, this is still strange for me to write about, cause I usually don't talk about all this, but ya know? Whatevs.
Peace
No comments:
Post a Comment