So it's official: I have officially started my sophomore year at Mississippi College... again :)
Haha apologies to the faithful for not having written in a few weeks! Life got busy, people got annoying, and I was packing and practicing for school!
It's been incredible so far though: Singers is blowing my socks off, I got asked to be in the musical (Ragtime, come and see it) my roommate is, well, I have not the words to formulate how wonderful she is, and seeing/living with people my own age again is so good!
I was color coding and continually adding things to my planner last night and I realized that I won't have a free weekend until the first weekend in NOVEMBER! So let's forget the fact that I wanted to come back almost every Memphis in October, and multiple heartfelt apologies for everything I'm going to be missing within that month =(
Oh, and let me just tell you: my schedule is chocked full of a million and a half things already, and it's all music. This is excluding all things homework, all things friend/hangout time, and normal life. Ah, the life of a music major; I love it but sometimes...
On a different note, I feel a lot more, well, grown up this year -for lack of a better term- and it's not just because I'm 20 either! For starters, I thought my voice was going to be a process to get back into shape when it came time for those 6 hour rehearsals on Monday and Tuesday and for my voice lesson on Thursday. No no. I wouldn't call it muscle memory, but maybe heart memory? It's remarkable how easy it was/is for my voice and my determination to grow and strengthen my voice to come back but then I remember that this is where my heart is, this is what gets me to my core, and then it makes sense :)
I also realized that my speech has matured a bit, I'm using bigger words (when not using gibberish), speaking in a more eloquent manner (see that big word) and talking to my peers and my professors differently. And it's so fun! I feel like such a big kid!
The biggest thing of all that I realized I had become more of a grownup was last night, there was a dance party for all the new freshmen that were here sprinkled with some upperclassmen (for friendly faces and funky dance moves) and I stopped by for awhile and then I walked to my room to go and write a paper!
A PAPER!!
I don't understand why I had homework on the first week of classes anyway, and I really don't understand why I didn't stay and dance! For those of you who know me, I love dancing. Whether I be good at it or not, dancing is just something I love and have loved and will love. Always always. I didn't even realize what had happened until I was back in my dorm room. It was quite a shocking realization, I had to sit down ;P
Hahaha aside from all of that, *waves hand in direction of previous paragraph* life has been wonderful. The laughs and hugs have been plentiful, the friendships that grew even in this past year have grown even stronger in these past few days, God and I have gotten real REAL fast, and I'm content knowing that this is where He put me and these are the people that I'm living life with.
The feelings of imploding AND exploding with happiness are constant :)
love love love.
ReplyDeletealso, I color-code my calendar. adding that to the list.